Peace and Justice Weekly Updates 3.24.2021

Speak Up For Voter’s Rights

In today’s Justice Bog, Sr. Judy Morris addressed the frightening number of state laws currently under consideration that will erode the voting rights of millions. Today, the Senate will hold a hearing on S.1, the For the People Act of 2021. This important legislation would protect and expand voting rights, take steps to remove dark money from political campaigns, and limit partisan gerrymandering. It has already passed the House, and now we’re sending the message that the Senate should pass it with a simple majority vote.

Please contact your senators to let them know you support this important legislation.

Personal Intervention Seminars

After the horrific murder of six Asian women in Atlanta, abuse and attacks on our Asian American neighbors has been brought into focus. It is up to each of us to stand up for our sisters and brothers when we see them being harassed.

Hollaback! and Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC are partnering for a virtual workshop on bystander intervention.

The one-hour, interactive training will teach you Hollaback!’s 5 D’s of bystander intervention methodology.

  • We’ll start by talking about the types of disrespect that Asian and Asian American folks are facing right now — from microaggressions to violence — using a tool we call the “spectrum of disrespect.”
  • You’ll learn what to look for and the positive impact that bystander intervention has on individuals and communities.
  • We’ll talk through five strategies for intervention: distract, delegate, document, delay, and direct; and how to prioritize your own safety while intervening.
  • We’ll have time at the end for practice, and you’ll leave feeling more confident intervening the next time you see Anti-Asian and Asian American harassment online or in-person.

You must register in advance for all trainings. They will be capped at 1,000 people.

  • Wednesday March 24 2021. 6pm ET/ 5pm CT/ 4pm MT/ 3pm PT/ 1pm HST. Register Here.
  • Tuesday April 6th 2021. 2pm ET/ 1pm CT/ 12pm MT/ 11am PT/ 9am HST. Register Here.
  • Wednesday April 7th 2021. 3pm ET/ 2pm CT/ 1pm MT/ 12pm PT/ 10am HST. Register Here.
  • Thursday April 8th 2021. 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT/ 8am HST. Register Here.

Celebrate St. Romero Day

Join COAR – The Community of St. Oscar Romero, for a special St. Romero Day Prayer Service
Today, Wednesday, March 24
7:00 pm ET
The service will stream live at coarpeacemission.org.
Click here to register. 

Posted in Peace & Justice Weekly Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.